Eco-Chique

adventures in learning to be green & finding a green career

My first blog March 27, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — coreyfranks @ 9:48 pm

I am embarking on a new journey in life. Sure I may have been in transition for a year now, but it is at this moment that everything seems different. I have applied for jobs using the same method I am used to, online job boards. From what I hear, I am an anomaly. I was hired on the spot by my last 3 employers. Each one found on an online job board. For the last year I have frustratingly applied to hundreds of positions that way.

One month ago, I was introduced to Networking. I had no idea this was going on. How naive I have become while others are learning a new way to obtain a job. So I have embarked into the waters of networking. Everyone I meet is at least 10 years my senior and have a track record of accomplishments going back to when I was ten. It can be intimidating at first, but I am not competing for the same job they are. Each one has unique experiences just like me. I love networking because I thrive when I am around people especially people who I don’t know.

I was told by one networking acquaintance that I have the “gift of gab”. Coming from a very experienced sales professional, I will take that as a compliment. My resume does not speak to me. Who I am is not defined by what I have been able to accomplish out of college. We all encounter situations that require us to leave one job or another. Rather, who I am is a volcano of potential just waiting for a company to trigger it. I have accomplishments. I have by no means been sitting around eating buttercream frosting day in and day out. Some accomplishments include: salvaging a new manufacturing product line, marketed an electric vehicle at trade shows and always had great customer relations throughout my career. So who is going to tap in to that volcano of potential?????

I decided to blog about my experiences in this transition period. I really hope it comes to an end soon! But I also just want to bring a personal touch to what one can experience in life during this time. I am grateful I still have my faith in God. It has been a huge trial for me this past year, but I still need to tell myself that circumstances should never affect one’s faith. The two are not conjoined.

I look forward to sharing this journey with you. Whoever you are…..

 

Leave a Reply

