Eco-Chique

adventures in learning to be green & finding a green career

Passion April 27, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — coreyfranks @ 10:13 pm

I just watched Woody Harrelson’s documentary, ‘Go Further’. It’s about his 1,000 mile bike tour promoting SOL – Simple Organic Living. I admire his passion to stop off at colleges to inform the kids about the food they are eating and how destructive it is to their bodies and the planet. However, I am not for being extremist with rhyming chants and learning how to react in a riot situation.

Tonight I felt the need to pose this question. What are you passionate about? If someone was to ask me that today, I would say anything and everything green. However, if you asked me that question a couple of months ago, I probably would have responded saying, “I am passionate about finding a job.” I always try to be funny, but my answer is true. When you are passionate about something you want to share it with everyone you come into contact with. So what do you talk about when you are around others?

Well, two weeks ago I was at Henry’s market and started educating the teenage boy behind me about milk, meat and organic fruits. He probably thought I was random, but maybe it got him to think and possibly research the food he is eating. The power of one really is a magnificent thing. The power of one has been seen in many icons; however, we never really think WE have the power. We get stuck in the small-minded thinking that we are not capable of making an impact.

I wonder what holds us back? What was it that pushed people like Martin Luther and Martin Luther King to do what they did? They didn’t think in the “Can’t” mindset. When I was old enough to vote, I would say, “I can’t make a difference with my vote so I’m not going to.” Except people, including me, don’t just stop with the voting subject. It spreads to other areas of life as well.

Each person is made by God. David says in Psalms that God knits us together in our mother’s womb. We are created with a purpose. Thankfully, our lives do not end with death. I’m looking forward to Heaven. But while I am on this earth, I need to put my life into God’s perspective and not allow my “Can’t” mindset to hold me back.

I am obviously passionate about my faith and being green. So I am taking steps to take that passion and whatever knowledge I have and put it to work.

My ending thought is this: Can passion really be a passive word?

 

Leave a Reply

